Big Escape

I haven’t blogged much lately; I’ve been finishing many drawings at once. I will start with the strangest piece. This is mixed media drawing on yellow pastel paper.  Paints, crayons and a lot of sepia and black  ink. I’ve been working on this for nearly six weeks:  one layer on Monday, next one on Friday etc.  It’s a scene from a dream.  Oh, this was a gothic story.  It was about a doll, who claimed to be alive; she wanted to be able to move. The doll first looked like my aunt’s old doll: plastic head, movable eyelids and hand-made knitted skirt. Later she evolved into something more like a marionette. The house was old, dusty and full of old women. I’ve never seen their faces, they were silhouettes in dark corners. They gave their consent, but there was a long list of conditions. You break one rule and you never move again – that’s what I remember. I can’t recall the rules anymore, except one; the doll had a friend (I can’t remember who it was; possibly some other toy) that she was not allowed to talk with. They communicated with hand gestures, hiding hands from old womens’ view. At some moment doll’s friend found the way out, or so he belived; he gestured the doll to follow and they arrived to a place, where the floor ended. It was too dark to see what is below the edge. I woke up with a feeling I don’t want to know :). It was a vivid dream and I always wanted to draw this doll, but I was too lazy, until  one day my DA group announced a contest about nightmares… and I thought it’s now or never. I suppose my dream fits all criteria.Big Escape

Leave a Reply

