Nursery

New book project has just started and I’ve spent most weekend drawing a little boy’s room, the background to the opening illustration. The boy will sit at the window, but I’m going to draw him separately. The author wants him to be similar to her son – actually she would be happiest if I could draw a portrait. And mums are most demanding clients in the world! I’ve discovered it when making sketches. You know how it is; he’s got huge beautiful blue eyes (please make them bigger), and he’s got long golden curls (please make hair longer), but now he looks too much like a girl (please make him look more like a boy). If I survive this, I will promote myself to the next grade in my illustration-maker career.

watercolor drawing with a bit of digital edition
watercolor drawing with a bit of digital edition

2 thoughts on “Nursery

  1. I actually did a similar project for a friend based off Dr. Seuss characters and she had the same comments! I made the eyes more proportionate to her son’s and she asked for them to be larger. I found it funny that you just mentioned that…guess I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

